Leader of the Liberal Democrats Jo Swinson has today announced an expanded Shadow Cabinet.
New MPs Luciana Berger and Phillip Lee will take on Health, Wellbeing and Social Care and Justice respectively. Angela Smith has been appointed Shadow Secretary of State for International Development while Sam Gyimah will shadow Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

Leader of the Liberal Democrats Jo Swinson said:

“As we enter a crucial few days for the future of our country, I am delighted to announce the new Liberal Democrat shadow cabinet.

“This team will take the fight to Boris Johnson and Jeremy Corbyn, and offer a brighter future that neither of their old, tired parties can offer.

“The Liberal Democrats are the strongest Remain party and I look forward to working with this fantastic team to fight to keep the UK in the EU.”


Please find the full list of the Liberal Democrat Shadow Cabinet here and below.


Liberal Democrat Shadow Cabinet

Jo Swinson


Ed Davey

Chancellor of the Exchequer
Deputy Leader

Chuka Umunna

Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
International Trade + President of the Board of Trade

Christine Jardine

Home Department
Women and Equalities
Deputy Chief Whip

Tom Brake

Duchy of Lancaster (prep for No Deal)
Exiting the European Union

Phillip Lee


Jamie Stone


Luciana Berger

Health, Wellbeing and Social Care

Sam Gyimah

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Layla Moran

Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Wera Hobhouse

Climate Emergency, Environment & Food

Tim Farron

Work and Pensions
Housing, Communities and Local Government
North of England

Alistair Carmichael

Chief Whip
Northern Ireland

Jane Dodds

Rural Affairs

Angela Smith

International Development

Vince Cable

Minister for Cabinet Office

Catherine Bearder

European Parliament

Siobhan Benita


Willie Rennie

Scottish Parliament

Kirsty Williams

National Assembly for Wales

Caroline Pidgeon

London Assembly

Dick Newby

Leader of Lords

Sal Brinton


*Please note that Norman Lamb and Sarah Wollaston will attend relevant Shadow Cabinet meetings but given their roles as Chairs of respective Select Committees they will not take a formal Shadow Cabinet role. 


Similar Posts
Latest Posts from Richmond (Yorks) Liberal Democrats